KDnuggets Home » News :: 2013 :: Feb :: Industry Analysts for Analytics, BI, Big Data, Data Mining, Data Science ( 13:n05 )

Industry Analysts for Analytics, BI, Big Data, Data Mining, Data Science


Here is my list of key industry analysts who cover the field of Analytics, BI/Business Intelligence, Big Data, Data Mining, Data Science and related areas. Who do you follow?



Gregory Piatetsky, Feb 22, 2013.

Industry AnalystA colleague asked me for industry analysts I follow, and once I sent him my list, I thought it would be useful to share. Who did I miss and who do you follow? Please comment.

I am not on this list, since I am not a "traditional" analyst, but, according to Information Management, I am a Business Analytics Guru (:-).

Here is my list, in alphabetical order, by last name:

Leslie Ament, @Hypatia_LeslieA
Hypatia SVP, Analyst, #Customer Intelligence Researcher. Business value of #CRM, #BI, #Analytics, #VOC, #Social Media, #Info Mgmt., #BigData, #GRC & Mkt.Aut

Anil Batra, @anilbatra
Analytics is my passion and work. Moving beyond web analytics and working on Multi-Channel Analytics with granular customer level data. Seattle, www.AnilBatra.com/analytics/

Robin Bloor, @robinbloor
blogger, humorist, technology analyst, maverick. Co-founder of Bloor Group. Austin, Texas. www.wordsyoudontknow.com/

Boris Evelson, @bevelson
Business Intelligence industry analyst at Forrester Research www.forrester.com/rb/analyst/boris_evelson

Mike Gualtieri, @mgualtieri,
Forrester Analyst: Big Data, predictive analytics, & emerging technology. Host of TechnoPolitics. Futurist.

Judith Hurwitz, @jhurwitz,
author, software industry thought leader, consultant, industry analyst focused on cloud, big data, analytics,+ focusing on customer experience and outcomes www.judithbalancingact.com
Recent publication: Hurwitz Text Analytics Victory Index.

Doug Laney, @doug_laney
Gartner VP Research, Analytics, Info Innovation & Big Data | Originator, discipline of Infonomics

Jeremiah Owyang, @jowyang
Industry Analyst, Partner at Altimeter Group. Silicon Valley, CA web-strategist.com/blog

Hyoun Park, @hyounpark
COO @cambervillechow & NucleusResearch Principal Analyst #analytics #bigdata #telco #MoneyBall LinkedIN: j.mp/hyounpark Tumblr: j.mp/TheFinalWord Read my research at nucleusresearch.com

Mark Smith, @marksmithvr
CEO & Chief Research Officer at Ventana Research - www.ventanaresearch.com Bend, OR marksmith.ventanaresearch.com/

Dan Vesset, @DanVesset
IDC VP, Business Analytics, Business Intelligence, Data Warehousing, Decision Mgmt, Predictive Analytics, Big Data, Content Analytics, Unified Info Access Mass, US www.idc.com

David Vellante, @dvellante
Entrepreneur, CEO co-founder of Wikibon & co-host SiliconAngle.tv, investor in Big Data start ups. Boston. wikibon.org
Recently published Big Data Vendor Revenue and Market Forecast 2012-2017.

There are also a number of influential journalists and bloggers covering this space, including

Of course, I also cover Analytics, Big Data, and Data Mining industry via

See also

What analysts do you follow and read?