IEEE ICDM 2014 Research Contributions Award: Prof. Jian Pei

Jian Pei wins a highest recognition for research in Data Mining for his work on the core frontiers of data mining, including pattern mining, classification, clustering, anomaly detection and outlier analysis.

IEEE ICDM 2014 IEEE ICDM Research Contributions Award

The IEEE ICDM Research Contributions Award is the highest recognition for research achievements in Data Mining, and is given to one individual or one group who has made influential research contributions to the field of Data Mining. The 2014 IEEE ICDM Research Contributions Award goes to Professor Jian Pei of Simon Fraser University, Canada.

Jian PeiJian Pei is a Canada Research Chair (Tier 1) and a Professor of Computing Science at Simon Fraser University, Canada, and a Fellow of the IEEE. His research has focused on effective and efficient approaches to analyze and capitalize on big data in various applications. He has published prolifically over the core frontiers of data mining, including pattern mining, classification, clustering, anomaly detection and outlier analysis. His technical publications have been cited extensively, tens of thousands of times.

Professor Pei has made prominent contributions to the foundation, principles and applications of data mining. Together with his collaborators, he developed a series of ground-breaking frequent pattern mining methods, which have been adopted by popular data mining textbooks and used by many researchers and in industry applications. He is also proactive and strategic in extending the boundary of data mining. He contributed the major ideas of multidimensional skyline analysis, a well-seasoned integration of ideas and methods from data mining and databases.

In addition to his fundamental technical contributions, Professor Pei has also made exemplary and invaluable contributions in service to the data mining research community through journal editorship and key organizers of premier data mining conferences.

2014 IEEE ICDM Nomination and Evaluation Committees
  • Geoff Webb (Co-Chair), Monash University, Australia
  • Xindong Wu (Co-Chair), University of Vermont, USA
  • Christopher W. Clifton, Purdue University, USA
  • Jerome H. Friedman, Stanford University, USA
  • David J. Hand, Imperial College, London, UK
  • Hans-Peter Kriegel, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universitaet Munich, Germany
  • Vipin Kumar, University of Minnesota, USA
  • Heikki Mannila, Aalto University, Finland
  • Geoff McLachlan, University of Queensland, Australia
  • Gregory Piatetsky-Shapiro, KDnuggets, USA
  • Shusaku Tsumoto, Shimane University, Japan
  • Benjamin W. Wah, Chinese University of Hong Kong, China
  • Wei Wang, University of California at Los Angeles, USA
  • Osmar R. Zaiane, University of Alberta, Canada