KDnuggets Home » News » 2015 » Aug » News, Features » RightRelevance helps find key topics, top influencers in Big Data, Data Science, and Beyond ( 15:n26 )

RightRelevance helps find key topics, top influencers in Big Data, Data Science, and Beyond


RightRelevance leverages the social web to find key topics and top influencers in many areas, from Big Data to emergency medicine. We use it to identify top influencers in Big Data, Data Science, and Data Mining.



Table 2. Top 20 Big Data Influencers

Big Data Influence Name Twitter Followers
98 Forrester Research  @forrester 319,131
96 Hilary Mason   @hmason  59,551
96 Mike Gualtieri @mgualtieri 46,831
95 Gigaom @gigaom 303,927
95 Doug Laney @doug_laney 29,472
94 Kirk Borne @kirkdborne 34,394
93 Merv Adrian @merv 20,361
93 Fred Wilson @fredwilson 399,150
93 Eric Kavanagh @eric_kavanagh 45,148
93 James Kobielus @jameskobielus 17,048
92 Bernard Marr @bernardmarr 83,129
92 Gregory Piatetsky @kdnuggets 36,636
92 Rick Sturm @rick345 15,383
92 Jeff Hammerbacher @hackingdata 22,055
92 Werner Vogels @werner 70,849
92 Jeremiah Owyang @jowyang 162,238
92 IBM Big Data @ibmbigdata 83,224
92 MIT Tech Review @techreview 412,288
92 Ben Lorica @bigdata 25,980
91 Big Data Science @analyticbridge 96,377

 
 

Turning to another key topic for our audience, Data Science, we found 2909 influencers.

Surprisingly, New York City leads San Francisco here.  Boston, Austin, and London fight for 4th, 5th, 6th place.

Table 3. Top Cities for Data Science Influencers

City  ST  Country  Data ScienceInfluencers
New York City  NY  USA 350
San Francisco  CA  USA 312
Washington  DC  USA 76
Austin  TX  USA 50
Boston  MA  USA 44
London  --  UK 43
Palo Alto  CA  USA 42
Seattle  WA  USA 42
Cambridge  MA  USA 35
Chicago  IL  USA 25
Paris  --  France 25
Berlin  --  Germany 24
Los Angeles  CA  USA 24

 

Table 4. Top 20 Data Science Influencers

Data Science Influence Name Twitter Followers
98 Hilary Mason  @hmason  59,551
93 Nathan Yau @flowingdata 47,950
93 Jeff Hammerbacher @hackingdata 22,055
92 dj patil @dpatil 27,495
92 Peter Skomoroch @peteskomoroch 24,124
91 Gregory Piatetsky @kdnuggets 36,636
91 Kirk Borne @kirkdborne 34,394
91 Chris Dixon @cdixon 181,499
91 Ben Lorica @bigdata 25,980
90 danah boyd @zephoria 109,376
90 Mike Bostock @mbostock 29,960
90 Doug Laney @doug_laney 29,472
89 O'Reilly Strata @strataconf 25,165
89 Drew Conway @drewconway 13,320
89 Michael E. Driscoll @medriscoll 13,619
90 Big Data Science @analyticbridge 96,377
89 Mike Gualtieri @mgualtieri 46,831
88 Monica Rogati @mrogati 13,818
88 Werner Vogels @werner 70,849
88 John Myles White @johnmyleswhite 12,738

We can compare "Data Science" with its older predecessor "Data Mining".

RR finds 1891 influencers  in Data Mining.

Top 10 cities are below.  Interestingly, here London, Paris, and Berlin are higher ranked than in Data Science list - perhaps in Europe "Data Mining" is still as fashionable as "data science".


 

Table 5. Top Cities for Data Mining Influencers

City ST Country Data Mining Influencers
New York City  NY  USA 158
San Francisco  CA  USA 139
Washington DC  USA 42
London  --  UK 31
Paris  --  France 28
Seattle  WA  USA 27
Berlin  --  Germany 22
Palo Alto  CA  USA 21
Toronto  ON  Canada 21
Boston  MA  USA 20
Cambridge  MA  USA 20
Mountain View  CA  USA 20
Austin  TX  USA 19

 

Table 6. Top 20 Data Mining Influencers

Data Mining Influence Name Twitter Followers
98 Hilary Mason  @hmason  59,551
95 Nathan Yau @flowingdata 47,950
94 Peter Skomoroch @peteskomoroch 24,124
93 Gregory Piatetsky @kdnuggets 36,636
93 Jeff Hammerbacher @hackingdata 22,055
92 Ben Lorica @bigdata 25,980
92 Jure Leskovec @jure 11,857
91 Kirk Borne @kirkdborne 34,394
90 Drew Conway @drewconway 13,320
90 Big Data Science @analyticbridge 96,377
90 O'Reilly Strata @strataconf 25,165
89 Monica Rogati @mrogati 13,818
89 David Smith @revodavid 15,796
89 Ryan Rosario @datajunkie 11,489
89 Edward Tufte @edwardtufte 53,459
89 Claudia Imhoff @claudia_imhoff 17,393
89 Doug Laney @doug_laney 29,472
89 Tableau Software @tableau 59,683
88 Merv Adrian @merv 20,361
88 Andy Kirk @visualisingdata  19,989

Sign Up

By subscribing you accept KDnuggets Privacy Policy