KDnuggets Home » News » 2015 » Aug » News, Features » RightRelevance helps find key topics, top influencers in Big Data, Data Science, and Beyond ( 15:n26 )

RightRelevance helps find key topics, top influencers in Big Data, Data Science, and Beyond


RightRelevance leverages the social web to find key topics and top influencers in many areas, from Big Data to emergency medicine. We use it to identify top influencers in Big Data, Data Science, and Data Mining.



Comparing with Data Science list we see a large overlap with Data Science and most ranking are similar. Both are led by rock star Data Scientist Hilary Mason.

Those with higher Data Science influence are

  • dj patil (we could not find his entry for data mining )
  • Chris Dixon
  • danah boyd
  • Mike Bostock
  • Doug Laney
  • Michael E. Driscoll
  • Mike Gualtieri
  • Werner Vogels

While those with higher Data Mining influence are
  • Nathan Yau
  • Peter Skomoroch
  • Gregory Piatetsky
  • Ben Lorica
  • O'Reilly Strata
  • Drew Conway
  • Monica Rogati
  • David Smith
  • Merv Adrian
  • Tableau Software
  • Claudia Imhoff
  • Ryan Rosario
  • Andy Kirk
  • Jure Leskovec
  • Edward Tufte

Here is a combined list of top 30 Data Science and Data Mining Influencers.

In few cases when influence for that topic was not found (shown in gray and italics), we put a value of 5 less than the lowest influence for any topic for that person).


 

Table 7. Top 30 Data Science/ Data Mining Influencers

N Name Twitter Followers Data Science Influence Data Mining Influence DS/DM avg influence
1 Hilary Mason  @hmason  59,551 98 98 98
2 Nathan Yau @flowingdata 47,950 93 95 94
3 Jeff Hammerbacher @hackingdata 22,055 93 93 93
4 Peter Skomoroch @peteskomoroch 24,124 92 94 93
5 Gregory Piatetsky @kdnuggets 36,636 91 93 92
6 Ben Lorica @bigdata 25,980 91 92 91.5
7 Kirk Borne @kirkdborne 34,394 91 91 91
8 Big Data Science @analyticbridge 96,377 90 90 90
9 Doug Laney @doug_laney 29,472 90 89 89.5
10 Drew Conway @drewconway 13,320 89 90 89.5
11 O'Reilly Strata @strataconf 25,165 89 90 89.5
12 Mike Gualtieri @mgualtieri 46,831 89 88 88.5
13 Monica Rogati @mrogati 13,818 88 89 88.5
14 John Myles White @johnmyleswhite 12,738 88 88 88
15 David Smith @revodavid 15,796 87 89 88
16 Claudia Imhoff @claudia_imhoff 17,393 86 89 87.5
17 Ryan Rosario @datajunkie 11,489 86 89 87.5
18 Merv Adrian @merv 20,361 87 88 87.5
19 Tableau Software @tableau 59,683 86 89 87.5
20 Eric Kavanagh @eric_kavanagh 45,148 87 87 87
21 Jure Leskovec @jure 11,857 82 92 87
22 IBM Big Data @ibmbigdata 83,224 87 86 86.5
23 Andy Kirk @visualisingdata  19,989 85 88 86.5
24 Rick Sturm @rick345 15,383 86 86 86
25 danah boyd @zephoria 109,376 90 82 86
26 Bernard Marr @bernardmarr 83,129 86 85 85.5
27 Werner Vogels @werner 70,849 88 83 85
28 dj patil @dpatil 27,495 92 77 84.5
29 Mike Bostock @mbostock 29,960 90 75 82.5
30 Edward Tufte @edwardtufte 53,459 75 89 82

Finally, we combined Big Data, Data Mining, and Data Science in one table, ranked by a combined score = Big Data influence + (Data Mining + Data Science influence)/2.


 

Table 8. Top 30 Big Data, Data Science, and Data Mining Influencers

N Twitter TwitterFollowers Big Data influence Data Science Influence Data Mining Influence Combined  score
1 @hmason  59,551 96 98 98 194
2 @hackingdata 22,055 92 93 93 185
3 @kirkdborne 34,394 94 91 91 185
4 @flowingdata 47,950 91 93 95 185
5 @doug_laney 29,472 95 90 89 184.5
6 @mgualtieri 46,831 96 89 88 184.5
7 @kdnuggets 36,636 92 91 93 184
8 @peteskomoroch 24,124 91 92 94 184
9 @bigdata 25,980 92 91 92 183.5
10 @analyticbridge 96,377 91 90 90 181
11 @merv 20,361 93 87 88 180.5
12 @eric_kavanagh 45,148 93 87 87 180
13 @strataconf 25,165 90 89 90 179.5
14 @claudia_imhoff 17,393 91 86 89 178.5
15 @ibmbigdata 83,224 92 87 86 178.5
16 @rick345 15,383 92 86 86 178
17 @bernardmarr 83,129 92 86 85 177.5
18 @werner 70,849 92 88 83 177.5
19 @zephoria 109,376 91 90 82 177
20 @tableau 59,683 89 86 89 176.5
21 @dpatil 27,495 91 92 77 175.5
22 @drewconway 13,320 86 89 90 175.5
23 @mrogati 13,818 87 88 89 175.5
24 @revodavid 15,796 87 87 89 175
25 @jure 11,857 86 82 92 173
26 @johnmyleswhite 12,738 84 88 88 172
27 @visualisingdata  19,989 85 85 88 171.5
28 @datajunkie 11,489 84 86 89 171.5
29 @edwardtufte 53,459 89 75 89 171
30 @jameskobielus 17,048 93 88 64 169

We also visualized the top 30 influencers in Tableau , with Y axis showing an average DM/DS influence and X axis showing Big Data influence.

Rr Big Data Data Mining Influencers

Fig. 3: Big Data and Data Mining/Data Science top influencers.

Color is red if influence is higher in DM/DS topics, blue if in Big Data topics, and grey if equal . Circle size corresponds to the number of twitter followers.

Related:


Sign Up

By subscribing you accept KDnuggets Privacy Policy