KDnuggets Home » News » 2016 » Jun » Webcasts & Webinars » Webinar, Jun 24: Using Text Mining to Improve Patient Care ( 16:n22 )

Webinar, Jun 24: Using Text Mining to Improve Patient Care


Learn about a novel use case of applying text mining tools during and after patient rounds in a hospital, including use of text mining on a tablet computer to extract information to aid physicians on their daily visits to patients.



Copyright Clearance Center Using Text Mining to Improve Patient Care
Fri, June 24, 2016, at 2 times: In this one-hour webinar hosted by CCC, presenters Jonathan Hartmann, Senior Clinical Informationist and Head of Data Management at Georgetown University Medical Center, and Guy Singh, Senior Manager, Product and Strategic Alliances at Linguamatics, will explore the application and impact of text mining on patient care at Georgetown University Medical Center. In this session the speakers will present a novel use case of applying text mining tools during and after patient rounds in a hospital. Jonathan will discuss his use of text mining on a tablet computer to extract information to aid physicians' decision making on their daily visits to their patients' bedsides. Jonathan text mines information from MEDLINE and other sources to enable real time operational use during hospital rounds.

Jonathan will provide a look back over the past few years to see how the solution has evolved from its inception to how it is being used today. He'll also walk through a series of real life case studies to illustrate how the solution has assisted physicians in their diagnosis and treatment of patients.

CCC's Chris Kenneally will facilitate the session.

Featured Speaker: Jonathan Hartmann

Jonathan Hartmann Jonathan Hartmann is the Senior Clinical Informationist and Head of Data Management at Georgetown University Medical Center. Previously, he was AHEC Program Librarian at the University of South Florida; Reference & Instruction Librarian and Assistant Professor of Instructional Resources at the Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences; and Outreach Coordinator, AHEC Librarian, and Instructor in the Department of Medicine at the Medical College of Ohio. He holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Anthropology from Kent State University and a Master of Library Science degree also from Kent State University.

Friday, June 24, 2016, at

Register9 am ET / 14:00 BST / 15:00 CEST

or Register10 am PT / 1 pm ET / 18:00 BST / 19:00 CEST

Sign Up