KDnuggets : News : 2004 : n14 : item2 < PREVIOUS | NEXT >


From: Gregory Piatetsky-Shapiro
Date: Jul 16, 2003
Subject: Winner of SIGKDD 2004 Service Award is ...

SIGKDD Service Award is the highest service award in the field of data mining and knowledge discovery. It is is given to one individual or one group who has performed significant service to the data mining and knowledge discovery field, including professional volunteer services in disseminating technical information to the field, education, and research funding.

Previous SIGKDD Services Award winners were Gregory Piatetsky-Shapiro (KDnuggets) in 2000, Ramasamy (Sam) Uthurusamy (GM) in 2002, and Usama Fayyad (DMX group) in 2003.

ACM SIGKDD is pleased to announce the winner of SIGKDD 2004 Service Award, who is

Dr. Xindong Wu,

Professor and Chairman of the Computer Science Department at the University of Vermont.

He was the Founding Chair (April 1998 - April 2001) of the Steering Committee for the Pacific-Asia Conference on Knowledge Discovery and Data Mining (PAKDD), which has become the leading Asian data mining conference. He served as a program chair of PAKDD 98.

In 1999, he started the Knowledge and Information System (KAIS) journal and served as the Executive Editor since then. KAIS has become one of the main journals for publishing data mining related research .

In 2001 he founded the IEEE International Conference on Data Mining (ICDM) which has quickly become one of the premier conferences in the data mining field, receiving about 500 submissions in 2003-2004. He currently serves as the Chair of the Steering Committee for the IEEE International Conference on Data Mining (ICDM) and Chair of the IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Computational Intelligence (TCCI). He has been working tirelessly to promote the data mining field in the IEEE community and in the world.

In addition to his significant service contributions, Dr. Xindong Wu is also very active and productive in data mining research and has an excellent track record of publications including eight books (author of two, co-author of one and co-ed of five) and numerous journal and conference papers in data mining.

ACM SIGKDD 2004 Awards Committee

  • Gregory Piatetsky-Shapiro (KDnuggets), Chair
  • Rakesh Agrawal (IBM)
  • Jerome Friedman (Stanford)
  • Robert Grossman (U. of Illinois, Chicago)
  • Heikki Mannila (Helsinki U. of Technology)
  • Daryl Pregibon (Google)
  • Foster Provost (New York University)
  • Sam Uthurusamy (GM)

KDnuggets : News : 2004 : n14 : item2 < PREVIOUS | NEXT >

Copyright © 2004 KDnuggets.   Subscribe to KDnuggets News!