KDnuggets : Newsletter : 1999 Issues : 99:13 Contents :

KDnuggets 99:13, item 3, News:

Previous | Contents |  Next

Date: Mon, 14 Jun 1999 16:13:18 -0400 (EDT)
From: Gregory Piatetsky-Shapiro gps
Subject: KDD-99 Student Travel Awards

I am very pleased to report that the KDD-99 Student Travel Awards
Program was a great success. We have received applications from 19
students who have authored or co-authored 21 papers (two students have
co-authored 2 papers each).  Eligible students had to be full-time
students at the time of their paper acceptance and their applications
had to be received by June 7, 1999.

There were more qualified applicants than awards available, and
the 12 winners were selected according to the rules advertised
in KDnuggets 99:04 (www.kdnuggets.com/news/99/n04/i1.html).
Full list of accepted papers and full info about KDD-99 is available
at http://research.microsoft.com/datamine/kdd99/

Each winner will receive a $500 travel award, thanks to SIGMOD, SIGART, and AAAI.

Gregory Piatetsky-Shapiro
Chair, KDD-99 Student Travel Awards

The awards went to:
   Sigal Sahar (Tel-Aviv U., Israel), (single author, poster paper)
   Francesco Bonchi (U. of Pisa, Italy), (first author, plenary paper)
   Tom Brijs (Limburg U., Belgium), (first author, plenary paper)
   Venkatesh Ganti (U. of Wisconsin, USA), (first author, plenary paper)
   Valery Guralnik (University of Minnesota, USA), (first author, plenary paper)
   Yehuda Lindell (Weizmann Institute, Israel), (first author, plenary paper)
   Dimitris Meretakis (Hong Kong U. of Science and Technology, Hong Kong),
		      (first author, plenary paper)
   Biswadeep Nag (U. of Wisconsin, USA), (first author, plenary paper)
   Scott Gaffney (U. of California, Irvine, USA), (first author, plenary paper)
   Wenke Lee (Columbia U., USA) (first author, plenary paper)
   Syed Nadeem Ahmed (National U. of Singapore, Singapore)
	       (first author, of two poster papers)
   Anthony Tung (Simon Fraser U., Canada), (first author, of poster paper)

An honorable mention (but alas no travel award) goes to:

   Gediminas Adomavicius (New York U., USA)
   Necip Fazil Ayan (Bilkent U., Turkey)
   Stephen Bay (U. of California Irvine, USA)
   Tim Oates (U. Mass. Amherst, USA)
   Yiming Ma (National University of Singapore)
   Jinyan Li (Australia )
   Dimitry Pavlov (U. of California Irvine, USA),
   Xintao Wu (George Mason University, USA)

Previous | Contents |  Next

KDnuggets : Newsletter : 1999 Issues : 99:13 Contents :

Copyright © 1999 KDnuggets